Finished My Novel

When I lost my job in January of this year, I immediately committed myself to two goals. Goal one was find a better job, and goal two was to finish the novel I started writing the last semester I was a student of fiction at New School University. If all goes as planned, I will be starting as an intern at a literary agency in the fall. And I am proud to say that I have also finished up my novel, The Devils That Have Come to Stay.

The next step is finding an agent who wants to take it on, but compared to all the work that I’ve put into it so far, I think that’ll be pretty easy.

If you’ve missed the small sections I’ve blogged of it so far, here they are:

The beginning, where we meet the narrator and are dropped into the bizarre world he lives in.

Just a little post-modern snippet that I hope you’ll enjoy.

So it’s time to celebrate! And what better way to do so than blogging a top five list of the best last lines ever written.

5. …I was a Flower of the mountain yes when I put the rose in my hair like the Andalusian girls used or shall I wear a red yes and how he kissed me under the Moorish wall and I thought well as well him as another and then I asked him with my eyes to ask again yes and then he asked me would I yes to say yes my mountain flower and first I put my arms around him yes and drew him down to me so he could
feel my breasts all perfume yes and his heart was going like mad and yes I said yes I will Yes. –James Joyce, Ulysses

Context: You must know, if you’ve been reading, how I hate James Joyce. But if the solipsistic, annoying novel Ulysses had just been this line, it would have been brilliant.

4. For now she knew what Shalimar knew: If you surrendered to the air, you could ride it. –Toni Morrison, Song of Solomon

Context: a search to find a family and the truth of a legend ends with this. Beautiful.

3. And you say, “Just a moment, I’ve almost finished If on a winter’s night atraveler by Italo Calvino.” –Italo Calvino, If on a winter’s night a traveler 

Context: metafiction at it’s finest!

2. Then it does not necessarily have to be noodles! -Raymond Federman, Double or Nothing

Context: this entire novel is about stockpiling provisions for a year locked in a room, writing, much of which focuses on how many boxes of noodles the writer will need. This ending simultaneously negates the entire novel and suggests a whole new one.

1. …you must go on, I can’t go on, I’ll go on. –Samuel Beckett, The Unnamable

Context: Stream of consciousness + Sammy Beckett =*swoon*

I can’t promise that the end of my novel is as good, but I definitely tried!

This is what my edited first draft looked like. I always type my first drafts on a typewriter because there’s less to get distracted by than on a computer. Harder on the wrists, though!

About thebaffledkingcomposing

Pamela DiFrancesco is a writer with a community college degree in journalism, a fancy art school degree in fiction and a penchant for community organizing. A native of Pennsylvania coal country, Pamela lives in Astoria, Queens, writes, and does whatever else it takes to pay the bills. In the past, Pamela has worked for newspapers and taught children journalism in an after-school program. Pamela's fiction can be found on the web at Cezanne's Carrot and Monkeybicycle, in print in The Carolina Quarterly (who nominated "The Chuck Berry Tape Massacre" for the Best American Mystery Writing anthology) and forthcoming in The New Ohio Review. When not writing, Pamela practices acts of love and kindness in hopes of a radically different world, and is preparing for the Zombie Apocalypse through acts of badassery.
This entry was posted in Writing about Writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Finished My Novel

  1. androsh says:

    Congratulations! Finishing any larger work is a challenge of a high order.

Leave a Reply

